Graduate Faculty Meeting Minutes

Thursday, April 21, 2022 9 a.m., Weimer Hall 1074 (with Zoom option)

- I. Kelleher called meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.
- II. Minutes from 12/09/2021 approved.
- III. Kelleher recapped 2021-22 awards decided by CJC Graduate Committee and CJC Research Committee.
 - a. Julie Dodd Outstanding Graduate Student Teacher: Osama Albishri
 - b. Outstanding Professional Master's Student: Kimberly Fowler
 - c. Outstanding Research & Theory Master's Student: Xiaobei Chen
 - d. Graduate Student Research Award: Yufan "Sunny" Qin
 - e. Doctoral Mentoring Award: Spiro Kiousis
 - f. CJC nomination for UF Excellence Award for Assistant Professors: Roxane Coche
 - g. CJC Faculty Research Award: Jordan Alpert
- IV. Degree certifications and graduation with distinction: Kelleher referenced list of students for MAMC and Ph.D. degree certifications, including students recommended for graduation with distinction. List was emailed out ahead of meeting, voted on for approval beforehand by graduate committee, and set to be voted on by all CJC faculty at later meeting (11 a.m.).
 - V. Summer graduate student advising compensation plan: Kelleher discussed compensation plan proposal for summer grad student advising. Pending final HR approval, plan is to compensate 9-month faculty who advise graduate students in summer. Proposed compensation ranges from \$100 per student for advising an internship up to \$500 for chairing a dissertation, thesis, or capstone project committee for a student who is defending during summer.
- VI. Curriculum proposals: The following three curriculum proposals, previously approved by the CJC Graduate Committee, were presented and approved.

- a. Audio-Visual Storytelling course (seeking permanent course number)
- b. Mass Communication Capstone course online (seeking permanent course number)
- c. Changes to online concentration in Public Relations and Communication
 Management (adding a required foundations course and a required
 management course and bringing total number of required credits for degree
 to 36)
- VII. Policy changes for 2022-23 CJC graduate handbook: Documents outlining changes that were previously approved by the CJC Graduate Committee were distributed to all grad faculty via email ahead of meeting.
 - a. Advanced course policy discussed. Amendment proposed: "...no more than three of the five required advanced courses may entail co-authored work to fulfil the advanced-course requirement (i.e., a minimum of two advanced courses must require single-author projects)." Amendment approved. Amended policy approved.
 - b. Qualifying exam procedures discussed and approved.
 - c. Incomplete grade policy discussed and approved.
 - d. Probation/suspension policy discussed and approved.
- VIII. GRE requirement for doctoral admissions. Kelleher opened discussion based on recent data from doctoral admissions cycles for 2021 cohort (without GRE requirement) and 2022 cohort (with GRE requirement) and information from ASCCJ (Alliance of Schools and Colleges of Communication and Journalism) programs. Faculty presented positions on both sides of issue. Ballot opened for anonymous online vote by starting at 10 a.m. 4/21/2022 and to be closed 4/22/2022 at 11:59 p.m.
- IX. Meeting adjourned at 10:03 a.m.

CJC Spring Grad Faculty Meeting Attendance

04/21/2022

In-Person Attendees

Tom Kelleher Cynthia Barnett Spiro Kiousis Benjamin Johnson Juliana Fernandes Marcia DiStaco

Myiah Hutchens

Jienn Shin

James Babanikos Kasey Windels Kim Walsh-Childes

Mich

Jordan Alpert Houston Wells Chris Chu

Jay Hmielawski Evan Kropp Robyn Goodman Huan Chen

Amy Jo Coffrey Cyntha Morton

Kim Xu

Andy Selepal Clay Calvert Ted Spiker Hub Brown

Online (Zoom) Attendees

Michael Leslie
Debbie Treise
Rachel Grant
Mindy McAdams
Norman Lewis
Debbie Treise

Janice Raup-Krieger

Tim Sorel Carla L Fisher Frank Waddell David Ostroff Sri Kalyanaraman Roxane Coche Michael Weigold

Linda Hon Lissy Calienes Ann's iPhone Herbert Lowe Eric Esterline Ted Bridis

Jasmine McNealy Ann's iPhone Ann's iPhone Joanna Hernandez Ethan Magoc Yu-Hao Lee