Research Committee Meeting Minutes

Thursday, April 1, 2021 1:00 p.m. https://ufl.zoom.us/j/97838738294?pwd=SldWTkQ1dklCVnVsRzY3THdEQ09Cdz09

- I. Kelleher called meeting to order at 1:01 p.m.
- II. Minutes from 03/11/2021 were approved.
- III. Excellence Award for Assistant Professors: Hutchens excused for this part of meeting. Two candidates were discussed. Committee voted to recommend Jay Hmielowski to dean for CJC nomination to UF for Excellence Award for Assistant Professors.
- IV. CJC Faculty Research Award: Four nominees were discussed. Committee voted to award Kun Xu the 2021 CJC Faculty Research Award.
- V. CJC Faculty Summer Research/Creative Activity Award: Committee voted to approve Tim Sorel's application at the full amount requested.
- VI. CJC Graduate Student Research Award: Kastrinos excused from meeting before discussion of student awards. Five nominations were discussed. Committee voted to award Amanda Kastrinos the 2021 CJC Graduate Student Research Award.
- VII. Dissertation Funding Awards: Two proposals were reviewed. Committee voted to fund both Kalyca Becktel and Donghee Lee.
- VIII. Meeting adjourned at 1:30 p.m.

In attendance: Calvert, Hutchens (excused for Item III.), Kastrinos (for items I. – V.), Kelleher, Shin, Weigold.