2020-2021

Graduate Committee Meeting Minutes Thursday, September 17, 2020 1:55 p.m., Zoom

I. Call to order

The meeting was called to order by Tom Kelleher at 1:59 using Zoom.

II. Approval of minutes from 09/03/2020

Rodgers made a motion to approve the minutes, Ferguson seconded, the minutes were approved unanimously.

III. International Student Awards

Prior to the meeting, Kelleher emailed the committee members the list of students eligible to receive the International Student Achievement Award and the Alec Courtelis Award and Scholarship. Committee members should send their nominations to Kelleher.

IV. GRE/language test requirements

Committee members discussed how other major universities are handling the GRE requirement in this time of Covid 19. Most of those contacted have either temporarily or permanently waived the GRE test requirement. CJC already has temporarily waived the GRE for Master's students.

MOTION: Ferguson moved to extend the temporary GRE waiver of the GRE to doctoral applicants for Fall 2021. DiStaso seconded, and the motion passed unanimously.

V. Coordinator expectations

Kelleher shared a list of expectations for MAMC Coordinators. He will check with HR to see if coordinators are required to have a contract for the \$3000 compensation.

VI. Curriculum changes

It was suggested the project capstone course have a new number rather than renaming the current MMC 6973. Kropp and Calienes will discuss if it's possible to combine the on-campus and distance project course numbers.

Rodgers was asked to submit the academic approval information for Academic Writing—perhaps changing the name to Academic Writing in Communication.

McNealy was asked to provide the syllabus for MMC 6660 with the new name **Communication, Technology and Society.**

VII. Assessment plans

Kelleher discussed the assessment process and likely need to rewrite some of the assessment plans.

VIII. Other business

Kelleher reported that Coffey's certificate in Analytics was approved by the Graduate School.

IX. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 2:21 p.m.

ATTENDING: Kelleher, Calienes, Chen, Coche, DiStaso, Ferguson, Fisher, Goodman, Kropp, McNealy, Ostroff, Rodgers, Spiker, Te, and Hedge