

PUBLIC RELATIONS FACULTY MEETING MINUTES

Feb 13, 2020

INC Conference Room (3320)

Attending: Natalie Asorey, Ann Christiano (phone), Marcia DiStaso, Mary Ann Ferguson, Pat Ford, Linda Hon, Myiah Hutchens, Spiro Kiousis, Moon Lee, Rita Men, Mickey Nall, Deanna Pelfrey and Vanessa Wakeman (phone).

I. Minutes from 1-14-2020 were approved

II. Updates on curriculum changes

DiStaso gave updates on curriculum and faculty discussed.

III. Diversity, Cultural Awareness, and Internationalization

Faculty discussed and talked about different options. Pelfrey handed out flyers for the internationalization workshops and discussed them briefly. Ferguson suggested creating a subcommittee to work more on this matter. Faculty agreed to work on including this in the existing curriculum, as well as creating a subcommittee to collect information and put together a plan to present to teaching and curriculum committee. The subcommittee will include Ann Christiano, Deanna Pelfrey, and Vanessa Wakeman.

IV. Annual CJC Student Awards

DiStaso handed out nominations for awards and faculty worked through each one.

- Outstanding Scholar Samantha Leon
- PRSSA award Leah Antovel
- Service award Cindy Jara
- Professional Promise Tamarra Thal
- FPRA Martha Paz-Soldan

V. Graduate Task Force meeting

Ferguson passed around outline for Pro Master's program and PR Master's thesis track. She asked faculty what courses they believe should be listed for the Pro Master's and asked faculty to send her a list.

VI. Department Bylaws

Faculty approved department bylaws.

VII. Meeting adjourned at 6:05 pm