College of Journalism and Communications

College Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

December 6, 2018

Michael Leslie called the meeting to order at 10:05 a.m. The first order of business was approval of the April 26 minutes, which were approved as distributed.

Spiro Kiousis mentioned that a number of faculty were honored this past year, including:

- Dania Alexandrino, International Staff Educator of the Year
- Cynthia Barnett, 2019 Water Institute Graduate Fellows Faculty Team
- Carla Fisher, National Communication Association 2018 Outstanding Book Award
- Norm Lewis, James M. Cox, Jr. Foundation/The Palm Beach Post Professorship in New Media
- Frank LoMonte, #SaveStudentNewsrooms Recognition at 2019 Excellence in Journalism National Conference
- Tim Sorel, NATAS Suncoast Chapter Regional Emmy Award Winner
- Wayne Wanta, UF Foundation Preeminence Term Professorship and the College Senior Faculty International Educator of the Year
- Mickey Nall, PRSA David Ferguson Award for Contributions to PR Education
- Clay Calvert, UF Honors Term Professorship (Elizabeth Wood Dunlevie Honors Term Professor)
- From July: Jasmine McNealy Selected as 2018-19 Berkman Klein Center Fellow

The college voted unanimously to commend John Wright for his many years of service and to recommend him for emeritus status.

Michael Leslie discussed a new college standing committee proposed by the Faculty Senate—the Standing Committee on Diversity and Inclusion. Matt Sheehan and Joanna Hernandez (the committee chair) discussed the need for the committee and its activities. James Babanikos questioned the large number of people for the proposed committee, but Hernandez said by the time the committee was divided into subcommittee of four, a large number of faculty, students, and staff would be needed. A final vote will take place at the next general faculty meeting. **Attached is the complete committee proposal.**

Michael Weigold asked Tom Kelleher, Ted Spiker, and Dave Ostroff to report on proposed undergraduate course and curriculum changes in Advertising, Journalism, and Telecommunication. **The proposals, attached to this report, passed unanimously.** The departments, including Public Relations, also have new assessment plans.

There was no new business.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:26.

Respectfully submitted,

Churchill Roberts