To: Deanna Pelfrey

From: Kim Walsh-Childers and Tim Sorel

RE: Tenure and Promotion Committee Report 2016-2017

Date: April 11, 2017

Chairing Fall: Kim Walsh-Childers, Chairing Spring: Tim Sorel

Committee Members: Mary Ann Ferguson, Janice Krieger, Jon Morris, Linda Hon

In fall of 2016, the Tenure and Promotion committee reviewed three tenure candidates and provided feedback concerning research, teaching and service to Deans McFarlin and Kiousis. The Candidates were Janice Krieger, Rita Linjuan Men and Deanna Pelfrey.

The committee also drafted a proposal concerning Tenure and Promotion criteria for Creative Tenure Track Faculty. In December 2016, that proposal was voted on by the faculty and became part of the official review criteria for Creative Tenure Track Faculty.

In spring of 2017, the committee reviewed five candidates for third-year-review and provided feedback concerning research, teaching and service to Deans McFarlin and Kiousis. The candidates were Eunice Kim, Yu Hao Lee, Jasmine McNealy, Kay Tappan and Houston Wells.

The Committee worked throughout the spring to re-create a draft proposal concerning promotion criteria for Non-Tenure Track Faculty. Originally presented to the faculty in December of 2016, the proposal was sent back to committee for further development. Since that time, our newest version of this proposal has been vetted by several faculty and administration. We will present the proposal at the end-of-the-academic-year faculty meeting on April 20, 2017, and we will call for a vote.