2016-17 SABBATICAL COMMITTEE REPORT Submitted by Kathleen S. Kelly, Ph.D. April 18, 2017

The 2016-17 Sabbatical Committee met on Wednesday, November 2, 2016. Members of the committee are as follows: Kathleen S. Kelly, Ph.D. (chair), Michael Weigold, Ph.D., James Babanikos, Ph.D., and John Freeman, Ph.D.

Of 10 eligible faculty members, only two applied for sabbatical in Academic Year 2017-18, Amy Jo Coffey, Ph.D., and Cynthia Morton Padvano, Ph.D. Both Amy Jo and Cynthia applied for Two-semester Sabbatical at Full Pay; there were no applications for One-semester Sabbatical at Full Pay.

The committee unanimously approved both applications and reported its assessment and recommendations to Executive Associate Dean Spiro Kiousis, Ph.D. Both applicants, Drs. Coffey and Padvano, were subsequently approved for Two-semester Sabbaticals at Full Pay.

Finally, the 2016-17 Sabbatical Committee requested that, in the future, the College administration provide the committee with copies of written reports of activities and accomplishments of completed sabbaticals for applicants applying that year who previously have been awarded a sabbatical. Executive Associate Dean Kiousis agreed to implement the change starting in 2017-18.